Finnish Melodic Death Metal

SUOTANA is a Finnish melodic death metal band with strong influences from melodic black and power metal. It was originally formed in 2005 as Ville Rautio’s solo project. Soon after Pasi Portaankorva joined in and together they created the basis for the band. SUOTANA’s line-up was completed during 2012-2013 with Harri Portimo, Jari Körkkö, Juhani Merkkiniemi and Rauli Juopperi.

Suotana released their first demo ”Forgotten Soil Of This Land” in February of 2014 and their first full-length album ”Frostrealm” a year later in November 2015. Both were welcomed in the scene by listeners and critics alike.

The band had a few line-up changes after “Frostrealm” when Tommi Neitola joined as a new keyboard player and Tuomo Marttinen took over the vocal duty. This worked out brilliantly, as Tommi’s classical background and insight coupled with Tuomo’s powerful voice added more depth to the band’s musical expression. With a clear vision and new determination the band started working on a new album.

The upcoming album’s musical themes and artwork are beautifully intertwined. Epic wintry landscapes, different aspects of nature and hints of looming loneliness color the entire work. These themes continue and deepen further in a music video that was filmed in the cold north with a professional crew.